Welcome to the joint Australian Society of Archivists (ASA), Archives & Records Association of NZ Te Huinga Mahara (ARANZ) and Pacific Regional Branch of the International Council of Archives (PARBICA) 2024 Conference

Source: ChristchurchNZ Toolkit

Join us in Ōtautahi | Christchurch from 22-25 October 2024

2024 Annual Conference

The Australian Society of Archivists (ASA, Archives & Records Association of NZ Te Huinga Mahara (ARANZ) and the Pacific Regional Branch of the International Council of Archives (PARBICA) extend a warm invitation for you to join us in opening the archives: share your experiences and strategies for achieving this through access, engagement or other innovative avenues.

The conference aims to bring together a wide range of views on what ‘opening’ the archives means; how this has been, or might be, achieved, and when it should not. It is also a space to explore the challenges and opportunities posed by new technologies, increased accessibility, and the acknowledgement of historical and cultural sensibilities.


CONFERENCE TIMELINE

Call for Contributions Open19 December 2023
Call for Contributions CloseAEDT: 11:59 PM on Friday 1 March 2024
AEST: 10:59 PM on Friday 1 March 2024
AWST: 8:59 PM on Friday 1 March 2024
ACDT: 11:29 PM on Friday 1 March 2024
NZDT: 1:59 AM on Saturday 2 March 2024
Registrations OpenJune 2024
Registrations CloseEnd September 2024
Awards Ceremony and Welcome Reception22 October 2024
Conference23 & 24 October 2024
Symposium/Workshops25 October 2024
ToursTBA


Thank you to our Conference Sponsors


CONTACT US

You can find us on the following social media channels or send us an email.

Australian Society of Archivists, Inc.
W: www.archivists.org.au



Archives & Records Association of NZ Te Huinga Mahara (ARANZ)
W: www.aranz.org.nz/






Pacific Regional Branch of the International Council of Archives (PARBICA)
W: www.parbica.org/



                
               

We would like to acknowledge the Traditional Owners, Custodians and Guardians of the lands from across Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific and the surrounding waters and seas. We recognise their continuing connection to land, water, culture and community. We pay our respects to the Elders past and present. We honour the local community traditions of caring for archives and culture through Country, through songs and stories.

We pay our respects to mana whenua, to our respective tūpuna, and to the people of Ōtautahi and Waitaha . The history of this land and its people is a taonga that we humbly honour by making a contribution as kaitiaki of archives and records.